Bicol LGUs honored in Corn Congress

Other News

CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY – Bicol local government unit agriculturists were cited during the 10th Philippine National Corn Congress. held in Cagayan de Oro City, Limketkai Center on November 19 to 21, 2014.

Baao, Naga City, Tigaon, Ligao City and Calabanga received project grants worth P1M each plus trophy.

The municipal /city agriculturists of said LGUs except Tigaon were also awarded and received cash prize of P30,000 each. These include Ramon Bitao of Baao who topped the list of winners under this category, Ma. Edna B. Bongalonta of Naga city, Cesar D. Sodsod of Ligao city and Gil Gabriel H. Bordado III of Calabanga. Lea M. Beltran and Menandro U. Calingacion of Naga city were awarded as municipal/city coordinators and received P25,000 each and trophy.

The Corn Congress was attended by Department of Agriculture top officials led by Undersecretary for Operations Atty. Emerson U. Palad; Undersecretary for Administration and Finance Antonio A. Fleta; Assistant secretary for Field Operations and National Rice and Corn Program Coordinator, Edilberto M. de Luna; Assistant secretary for Finance Ophelia P. Agawin and DA Reg. 10 regional executive director, Lealyn A. Ramos and PhilMaize president, Roger V. Navarro attended the event.

It was convened by the Philippine Maize Federation, the Department of Agriculture Field Offi ce No.5, the city government of Cagayan de Oro and the province of Misamis Oriental. It gathered the corn industry players and stakeholders: the corn farmers, business group, agri-input suppliers, representatives from the government, private sector and academe.

Seventeen (17) Bicolano corn technicians were also awarded P20,000 cash prize each and trophy. They are: Jonafel Taduran, Elena N.Salvamante, Marly Corporal, Carlos Samar, Lourdes Ibarbia, Noel G. Manaog, Amelita O. Palacio, Dely B. Nocos, Elsa N. Bonagua, Magdalena P. Pobocan, Santiago B. Enrique, Victor B. Cortez, Felicisima M. Obiasca, Joshua T. Ipo, Teresita A. Barce, Lilibeth O. Patoc and Benedicto C. Heraldo.

No comments:

Post a Comment